Fifty Shades of Pocahontas

No Comment

No Comment

Robert Walser and I were strolling along the Corniche in Beirut the other day and it suddenly struck us. We picked it up and both commented on its bulk. I had an urge to toss it over the fiscal cliff but you know what Robert’s like… he had to waffle on for several pages to get nowhere and make you feel inferior in the process.

 

But, and this is a big “but” by the way, I have to say that he got me thinking about Pocahontas. She has a lot in common with Winnie the Pooh and Mowgli and Peter Pan and I hope you’re with me because I don’t want to go through this once more oh all right dammit here we go… It’s this Disneyfication of characters – including real people, hey, we’re all characters in God’s great rock opera, “Life”, now not showing at a theatre near you. Winnie, Mowgli, Peter, Pocahontas… they were all doing fine and didn’t need Walt to come along and hijack them, sweetening and repackaging, shipping included, now gift wrapped at no extra charge.

 

Well, it’s like this, Walt, and I hope you don’t mind if I call you Walt, I can, can’t I, I mean, what else am I going to call you – Vladimir? Estragon? You took advantage of Pocahontas, didn’t you. And made it OK for everybody else, didn’t you.

 

There’s books and there’s history and there’s history books and there’s something else that’s got nothing to do with anything.

 

Just thought I’d get that off my chest. Thank you for watching.

 

–          Sheen XXX  

 

Leave a Reply

