Maybe Coming Back (?)

... and no Internet...

This is the tapescript of a recording I made the other day when Sheen phoned me. She doesn’t phone me very often, and I thought that was because she didn’t have a phone, but it turns out she has. She has no Internet access where she’s staying, but apparently there’s a cyber café nearby. So perhaps my dear twin sister isn’t as isolated as she would like to make out…

 I have omitted place names where necessary, to maintain the secrecy of her whereabouts, but the rest is it a faithful record of what was said.

 

Me: Hi, Sheen!

Her: Hi! Is that you? Your voice sounds funny.

Me: Of course it’s me. Who else would answer my phone?

Her: Ah, I wouldn’t know what you’ve been up to without me to keep an eye on you.

Me: You? Keep an eye on me? Surely you mean the other way round.

Her: Well, whatever. Anyway, how are you?

Me: I’m great. How are you?

Her: Doing OK, not bad at all. I just called to say I might be coming back soon.

Me: You’re coming back? Great! When? Why?

Her: Yeah, well, I don’t know, but I might be.

Me: But why’s that?

Her: You mean, why don’t I know? Or why might I be coming back?

Me: Well, both, I suppose. But mainly why you’re coming back.

Her: I didn’t say I was, I said I might.

Me: OK, OK, but…

Her: It’s just that I feel I’ve done my time here in xxxxxx.

Me: You’ve what?

Her: I’ve done my time.

Me: You’re ready to come back?

Her: I think so.

Me: Are you not happy there? I thought you said it was a great place.

Her: Oh it is, it’s fine, really, it’s a great place to spend a few months.

Me: Ah ha.

Her: What do you mean, ah ha?

Me:  Eh? Nothing.

Her: You said it like you meant something.

Me: What are you talking about. It was just an empathic phatic utterance.

Her: Yeah, right.

Me: No, honestly. I just said it without thinking.

Her: You never say anything without thinking.

Me: Well, I was just… I was just so pleased when you said you were coming back, that’s all.

Her: Oh, I see. So you’d rather I stayed here?

Me: Huh?

Her: Isn’t that what you really meant?

Me: Is that what I really said?

Her: That’s what it really sounded like.

Me: My “ah ha” sounded like “I want you to stay in xxxxxx”?

Her: You know that’s not what I mean.

Me: Do I?

Her: When you said you were pleased, I could tell you didn’t mean it.

Me: You could tell that. I see.

Her: Yes, I could. Hey, I’ve lived with you for long enough to know what you really mean when you say something.

Me: Maybe you’ve been away long enough to forget.

Her: What was that? I’ve been away long enough to forget? Did you just say that?

Me: I just did, yes.

Her: So you’re saying I don’t know you any more?

Me: Oh, you know me well enough.

Her: You’re telling me!

Me: So… So you’re thinking of coming back.

Her: Oh, so now you know what I’m thinking. I see.

Me: Well, that’s what you said.

Her: No, it isn’t.

Me: Yes, it is. You said…

Her: I said, I might be coming back.

Me: That’s what I said.

Her: No, no, that’s what I said. You said I was thinking of coming back.

Me: Well… isn’t that the same thing? That’s what I meant.

Her: Of course it isn’t the same thing.

Me: Oh, wow… OK, so you might be coming back, but you’re not thinking of it, is that it?

Her: That sounds like I’m not thinking of coming back, so I’d have to say you’re wrong there, too.

Me: What?

Her: I mean, I might be thinking of it, but you don’t know what I’ve been thinking, so you can’t say I’m not thinking of coming back.

Me: Aaaaargh. OK, so let me ask you a simple question: Are you thinking of coming back, yes or no?

Her: I just told you.

Me: No, you didn’t.

Her: Yes, I did.

Me: No, you didn’t, Sheen!

Her: No? Well maybe you’re right.

Me: Ah ha!

Her: What?

Me: No, no, nothing. I don’t mean to say “Ah ha”.

Her: Yes, you did.

Me: No, I didn’t.

Her: Yes, you did. Otherwise you wouldn’t have said it. You might have not wanted to   say it, but you meant to say it.

Me: Eh?

Her: Anyway, I just wanted to let you know my plans.

Me: Your plans. Right. And what are they?

Her: I just told you!

Me: Eh?

………………………………..

Are you any the wiser? I certainly am not. All I have surmised is that Sheen has enhanced her bantering skills. I got the impression that there’s a chance she might be thinking of maybe coming back, perhaps. But then again, I’m probably wrong. ♥

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Soraya on January 27, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Yes I hoping too Sheen cames back at Zaragoza soon! We throw her of less!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

