Relative Values

 

My cousin Santi is worth his weight in gold. My uncle Javier is good for about half a million euros. I have a worthless nephew.

“It will cost you an arm and a leg,” say the Brits. In Spain we say, “It’ll cost you a kidney”. In Hungary, they say it will cost you a rib.

In English you pay “through your nose” for something. In Japanese they pay “with their big toes together” and in Vietnam they pay “in the fragrant rice season”.

OK, OK, I know what you’re thinking. But let me put it another way:

Suppose you stumbled upon a secret recipe for a wonderful meal. Wouldn’t you cook it first before sharing it with others?

Are you with me?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Norm Price on January 21, 2010 at 7:21 am

    No, I am not with you! I’m without you! Isn’t that priceless?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

