The Box of Chocolates

 

     

           

It will come to me as I stare

At the array I will feel no mercy

For the tiny victims of my gluttony

Glistening patiently for the tentative clutch

Gingerly grasping but eyeing what’s left

On the tray and there can be no doubt

The unwrapping and the quick squishing

PLOP! Into the mouth and the jaws

Get down to work triggering off those taste

Buds.

 

Life isn’t like this, after all.

 

We keep on swallowing in self-pity

Chomping and chewing the cud

As we crinkle the cellophane

And promise ourselves just one more, later on,

When nobody’s looking,

Because we’ve been good.

 

I don’t get what I deserve

But I get what I deserve.

Get it?

 

                                      Sheen

                

Leave a Reply

